Prior to the stock market crash of 1929, business in Suisun was booming. Local historian Jerry Bowen cites a 1925 edition of the River News, which noted that Suisun City’s prosperity at the time was evident by the success of its banks. Specifically, the Bank of Suisun, which in 1925 had more than 10 times its original capital stock of $100,000 in its vault.

Founded by R.D. Robbins on February 7, 1876, the Bank of Suisun was the town’s first bank and Robbins oversaw its growth as president until his death in 1919. The bank’s first location was 607 Main Street.

By 1927, the bank was ready for a new home. It found it, a few doors down on the corner of Main and Sacramento Streets.

According to The Heritage Collection, a historical book on Fairfield-Suisun sites and structures, the building was built on the site of the Rummelsburg Dry Goods Store. Typifying the Mediterranean style of the 1920s and 1930s, it was designed with high-arched windows, a low-pitched tile roof, stucco surface walls, and a rectangular floor plan.

Today, some 85 years later, these same architectural features can still be found at 601 Main Street. Paint may have given the exterior a brand new look, but the basic design of the historic 1927 building remains perfectly preserved as Old Town glamour. Fittingly so, since these days Knotty Hair Salon is what buzzes with commerce there.

New owners Justin and Emily Giangrasso set up shop at the corner of Main and Sacramento in 2009, converting the building into a modern beauty salon with vintage touches. Customers can take a step back in time with a visit. The lather room, for example, is built inside the Bank of Suisun’s old vault – complete with the original bank doors.